Adventures of Supermommy

May 22, 2010

Mosquitoes, and How I Hate Them

Filed under: Tips and Tricks — adventuresofsupermommy @ 4:43 am

So, we live in Georgia, the heart of the South.  It’s May.  Yes, mosquitoes are a problem.  I hate them.  I don’t want to go spraying my yard down with harsh chemicals because of the kids or the dog, and I vaguely remembered this mentioned somewhere and I thought I would try it.

Mosquitoes don’t like the scent of lemons or citrus, which is why citronella works, right?  I can’t go burning candles or tiki torches, either.  That’s just asking for trouble.  Plants aren’t going to work either ’cause I’ll just kill them.  (I did not inherit my mother’s green thumb, sadly.)

So, I got a sprayer attachment for my garden hose that I think I bought in the automotive section at Wal-mart.  You add soap to it and it mixes with the water, yadda yadda yadda.  This is sooo simple.  LEMON DISH SOAP.

Yes, that’s right.  Just cheap ol’ plain lemon dish soap.  It doesn’t even need to be the “good” kind.  Just the cheap generic buck-a-bottle stuff that is pretty much worthless for washing dishes.  Spray stuff down a little bit and you’re done.  If you are going to water the lawn, do that first, then spray your soap or you’ll wash it all away.  I hose down the yard and the bushes and the patio in the back yard and I don’t see a single mosquito.  Until it rains, then I have to do it again, which is now.  *scratches a fresh bite*

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

